School of Fisheries and Ocean Sciences About us Contact staff
Bookmark and Share

December 6, 2009

Quinn earns American Fisheries Society Alaska Chapter's highest award


Fairbanks, Alaska—Terrance Quinn, professor of fisheries at SFOS in Juneau, has won the Wally Noerenberg Award for Fishery Excellence, the highest award given by the American Fisheries Society’s Alaska Chapter. The award was presented to Quinn via the Internet at the AFS Alaska Chapter meeting in November 2009.

The Noerenberg award was first presented in 1982. During the past 27 years, there have only been 15 recipients. Previous recipients include Ole Mathisen, Jim Reynolds and Clem Tillion.

Quinn specializes in fisheries population and biometrics. He received his Ph.D. at the University of Washington in 1980 and joined the University of Alaska as a faculty member in 1985.

According to Ted Otis, award committee chair and the Alaska Department of Fish and Game’s finfish area biologist in Homer, Quinn has a long and distinguished career contributing to fisheries science in Alaska.

"As a professor at UAF SFOS, Terry continues to educate and mentor a long line of graduate students who excel at developing innovative methods for advanced theoretical and computational population assessment," said Otis. "Terry’s leadership in the field of quantitative fish dynamics extends well beyond Alaska’s borders."

Quinn has served on numerous regional, national, and international scientific advisory committees, including 25 years on the Statistical and Scientific Committee of the North Pacific Fishery Management Council. He is currently on sabbatical in South Africa.

The Alaska Chapter of the American Fisheries Society is a professional organization of individuals interested in maintaining high standards for the fisheries profession and ensuring conservation of Alaska's fisheries. SFOS fisheries faculty and students in Juneau and Fairbanks play a major role in the AFS Alaska Chapter.

Recent News